21 March 2021 at 2.30 pm
January Concert

Listen to the interview
with Bridget Douglas and Mary Gow

Michelle Velvin and Bridget Douglas

The instrumental combination of flute and harp has been popular with composers for over two hundred and fifty years. With glorious works like Mozart's Concerto for Flute and Harp of 1778 this combination of instruments has inspired generations of composers. Starting with the romantic French tradition of Faure we take you on a journey through France, Argentina, Japan and Aotearoa New Zealand with a programme of music that uses either dance or the natural world as the genesis for each work.


Gabriel Faure Sicilienne Op. 78 (1893)

Toru Takemitsu Toward the Sea III (1989)

Bernard Andrès Narthex (1971)

Alan Hovhaness Vision on a starry night Op. 384 (1985)

Jacques Bondon Swing No. 1 for flute and harp (1973)


Gareth Farr Taheke Mvt 2 (2001)

Astor Piazolla Histoire du Tango (1986) Cafe 1930

Vincent Persichetti Serenade Op. 79(1961)

Jacques Ibert Entr'acte (1935)


Paekakariki Memorial Hall

96, The Parade, Paekakariki

Tickets: $30, Students $15.

Online sales: marygow@gmail.com Info: 021 101 9609.

Available from Magpie at Paremata, 99 Mana Esplanade; Moby Dicken's Bookshop, Paraparaumu Beach; JENOA Shop. 2 Mahara Place, Waikanae.