"I LOVE Mulled Wine Concerts as they are so intimate.
See you soon
With gratitude, Helen"

Stories and Press Realeases

Aroha Aroha String Quartet

Mulled Wine Concerts feature acclaimed string quartet.

Kapiti audiences have a wonderful opportunity to hear one of New Zealand's finest string ensembles when the Mulled Wine Concert series presents the Aroha String Quartet at the Paekakariki Memorial Hall.

Acclaimed as “demonstrating accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity”, the Quartet has been very popular in previous Mulled Wine Concerts.

Local organiser Mary Gow says Paekakariki village, with its museum, cafes, pub and restaurants has easy links to the rest of the Wellington region and many visitors come for the day out, to beach walk, visit the many local attractions and hear fantastic music in a beachside setting.

Founded in 2004, the Aroha String Quartet is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique, and multicultural innovation.

The group featuring: Chinese-born NZSO first violinist Haihong Liu, Kapiti resident and violinist, Blythe Press, Zhongxian Jin, Professor of violin and chamber music at the NZSM and well-known New Zealand NZSO cellist Robert Ibell - will present Haydn’s beautiful "Sunrise" Quartet and Debussy's marvellous Quartet, celebrating the 150th year since the composer's birth.

As an unusual treat, they will also present "The White Haired Girl", a stirring piece from revolutionary China describing the misery suffered by local peasantry, particularly the women, in a time frame stretching from the late Qing Dynasty to 1920s or 1930s. This piece is familiar to almost everyone who grew up in China in the 1960s, and is still a very popular work.

Alongside their busy schedule of orchestral and teaching duties, Aroha are committed to presenting string quartet works from traditional Chinese folk music to western classical and an avant-garde contemporary repertoire. Blythe Press recently joined the group as second violin, taking the place of original quartet member, Beiyi Xue.

Local artists Dana Jackson and Shirley Sutton will exhibit their paintings at the concert.

<< Return to Archive