"I LOVE Mulled Wine Concerts as they are so intimate.
See you soon
With gratitude, Helen"

Stories and Press Realeases

Aroha TrioAroha Trio


Rarely heard master-works for string trio by Beethoven, Sibelius and Mozart will be performed by the Aroha Ensemble at the the beautiful seaside Memorial Hall in Paekakariki on Sunday 18 June.

The three members of the Aroha Ensemble are part of the Wellington-based Aroha String Quartet, one of New Zealand's finest chamber music ensembles, known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique and multicultural innovation.

Mozart's Divertimento for String Trio, written in the same year as this composer's last three symphonies, has been described as one of his noblest works. Beethoven's Opus 9 String Trios were a significant milestone in his development. His G major trio is rich, energetic and almost symphonic. The fascinating third work in the programme is a movement from an unfinished trio from Sibelius's early chamber music period.

Mulled Wine Concerts organiser Mary Gow says "Kapiti is lucky indeed to catch these very busy and prominent musicians on their tour and we are very proud to present them in Paekakariki"

Aroha Ensemble violinist Haihong Liu said “We’re relishing the special challenges and delights of playing as a trio and are really excited to be performing these amazing pieces around the country.”

Paekakariki is one of the jewels of the Kapiti Coast and features coastal walks, cycle trails and a long, beautiful beach as well as the hotel, cafes and restaurants. What better way for concert-goers to combine their outdoor activities to have a special day out, finishing off with some fine music?

<< Return to Press Releases